By Adi Arora

Editor’s note: This is an opinion piece and views expressed in this article are not necessarily reflective of The Beehive’s associated writers.

If you think this title is clickbait, you’re going to have to just bear with me. In the words of the legendary Elle Woods, I have a point, I promise. It might take a while to make, but I hope it’ll be worth it in the end. So essentially, as a liberal, I find it rather hard to believe what is happening on the current political stage. On November 8th, I woke up and found that a racist, misogynistic pig had been elected President of the United States. At a time when we really should be uniting against a common enemy, we seem to open the same divisions and rifts as before. Instead of striding forward, hand in hand, to fight against intolerance, against racism, against homophobia, we allow it to be reintroduced into society. And a question I found myself asking was: why?

 

Simply why. Why are things this way? Supposedly, we’ve come a long way from Confederate flag-waving loonies and mass KKK protests. But unfortunately, the legacy still lives on, in one form or another, in every country on Earth. So why does it continue. If we think about it, it’s mainly a left vs right issue. The left are liberals and progressive and the right is conservative. And so, whilst I am not at all saying all bad and hatred stems from the right, a lot of it is worsened by right views and policies. And it ought to stop.

I think I’ve figured out why we find it impossible to win against such values. It’s because we can’t put together a plausible argument. We keep shouting and shouting that what is happening is wrong, but unfortunately, none of us actually know what’s happening. Allow me to give you an example. On Trumpcare, one news outlet said “32 million will be left without healthcare”. Another said “Under Obamacare, 23 million are without healthcare. Under TrumpCare, it will become even worse”. The details of what should be our strongest arguments are foggy, which means we can’t actually structure a reasonable argument towards the right. I look at alt-right tweets all the time and I see all kinds of rubbish, like Hillary’s supposed child sex ring and that Hillary was paid by Russia and I think, how on earth did they win the election? Forget the election, how did they even graduate high school? But then I look at some vaguely left stuff, and I find exactly the same sort of rubbish! Stories on how Jared Kushner went on holiday and spent $500 and is therefore evil, countless memes regarding Trump and Russia which are so incredibly rude its below what I expect from anyone. By getting so frustrated, we’re damaging our own reputation and we’re making ourselves lose credibility. We say we wouldn’t stoop to the level of Trump and his “cronies” but that’s exactly what the left is doing. The entire system is so disjointed that we do not have a solid base to battle with anymore. This is angering me. We are better than this. And this is where the hokey pokey model comes in. I feel like, instead of making any progress whatsoever, we’re just doing a merry little dance. For every step we take, we take one back. So we do a lot of moving about and we make a lot of noise but at the end of the day, we don’t actually move anywhere. This is the rut we’re stuck in at the moment.

I’d just like to echo what I’ve said in previous articles. We need to stand together and rise up against hatred, against intolerance. We need to brush aside our differences and united against a common enemy. But while we still act like three-year-old children, we’re never going to make any progress. And if that’s the case, I don’t really think we deserve the title of Progressives. A tweet from Tony Posnanski perfectly sums up everything I want to say. He says:

Screenshot_2017-07-26-08-48-41-1

Because at some point, we need to step back and stop looking at this as Democrats, as Republicans, or as left or right or citizens or religions and start looking at it as a human being. Because we are all first and foremost human and it is our right and indeed our duty to make the world a better place. But that won’t happen if we don’t do it together.

